top of page

37 weeks 2 days

I hit a wall on Sunday. At exactly 37 weeks 2 days, I no longer could answer, “I feel great” when people asked about my pregnancy. From weeks 1-37 weeks and 2 days, I have had a very easy (praise!) pregnancy. I never battled morning sickness, no food aversions and my skin stayed healthy and happy. I was able to remain active with yoga, my feet and hands never swelled and my hormones have been relatively normal and kind to this mamma-to-be (and her husband).

At 37 weeks 2 days, it changed overnight. I woke up Sunday morning, (after a busy rodeo weekend in which I felt great) and my belly had dropped. Little man had nestled into my pelvis, getting prepared to make his descent into the world. Throughout the day, baby continued to drop, and by the end of the day, it felt like I was carrying a bowling ball between my legs. My little waddle became a lot more exaggerated, and my bones began to ache. Beside this physical change, my mindset (a.k.a. hormones) also shifted. What started as a simple question from my parents regarding labor and delivery turned into a full-blown sobbing fit (In case you were wondering, I was the only one crying and everyone else nervously avoided eye contact.). Welcome to pregnancy at 37 weeks 2 days. I went to church, ate Bluebonnet chicken fried steak, swam at the pool and ended the day an absolute mess of tears.

Monday wasn’t much better. I battled through work. My workload is crazy right now (perfectly correlated with my stress level and how pregnant I feel at this point) as I scramble to get everything done before maternity leave. I walked in the door from work and immediately crumbled in Dalton’s arms (again in tears – that goes without being said at this point). After work, we still had birthing class. My day ended making dinner at 9:00 p.m. I do not recommend this at 37 weeks 3 days.

Today (Wednesday morning), I sit wide-awake at 4:30 a.m. (after my 3rd trip to the bathroom for the night) typing this blog. Despite the last few days of feeling very pregnant, I feel excited when writing this (which could change in a second with the shift of the wind – cough, cough hormones). I know this brewing storm in my body right now means that I am so close to meeting my sweet baby boy. I get to hold him. I get to smell his sweet smell. I get to see my husband’s heart burst with love. I will get to see those tiny baby fingers and toes. I will hear Truett’s cry for the first time. I will get to meet our son.

Knowing this, I feel motivated to make it to through. Whether I give birth tomorrow or at a week overdue, it will all be worth it.


bottom of page