top of page

The Cheerleaders

Yesterday, this was my Facebook post.

These were the comments that were left for me.

This got me to thinking about life’s cheerleaders. I made this simple post, and like most people, if we are honest with ourselves, I was simply looking for some sort of response, specifically: gratification. Three kind women decided to praise and spread goodness. They did not do this for themselves. They did this out of the goodness, kindness and love that seeps out of their souls (I know these women, and it does in fact seep with seemingly no end). Their cost was little, but my gain was large. My question: how often do we pay forward the little cost of kindness?

While they may not realize their impact, not one person does when we make the simple choice to be kind. This is something that I try to teach to my students. I only have two simple rules in my classroom: work hard and be kind. If I needed to narrow it down more, I would pick kindness. Being kind sort of encompasses hard work. If we work hard, that is showing kindness to ourselves, our employers, our teachers, our parents, our friends, etc. Yes, kindness is important.

That takes me back to this blog. My goal when I started is kindness.

In today’s post, my goal is to life up those three cheerleaders.

Hannah Faye, you have always been someone I look to with admiration. You have so much knowledge in that brain of yours (covered by beautiful curly hair). You can walk into a room and make people of all walks of life smile. You hold strong to your convictions, but still show kindness and respect. You are a model of love. You ooze talent: debate, singing, dancing and compassion.

Cassi Sultemeier, you are such a model of Christ. You put others before yourself always, whether it is your son, your students, or a stranger. I look to you as a model for grace and service. I feel blessed to have you in my life: you bring me closer to God, you make me a more selfless teacher and you teach me the importance of small acts of kindness.

Dayna Reyna, you are the most gregarious person I know. You make others feel like they are the most important person to walk into the room. You build others up. You make them feel important, worthy, loved and simply happy. Your energy radiates, and anyone within your presence is sure to feel your light and grace.

Today, this is my small act of kindness.

Who will you be a cheerleader to today?

bottom of page